The Last Week In Marseille

I’m very sad to say that this week is my last week in Marseille. My internship officially ends on Friday and I have to head back to the States on Monday. I’ve made some really wonderful friends here whom I’ve become close with and I know it’s going to be really hard to return to America. Everyone has been so welcoming and they have helped make France feel like home for me.

I know there were some questions for me in previous comments that I’ve neglected to answer (until now), so here it goes:

What were the difficulties you encountered when you first arrived at your internship: Well, the Marseille accent isn’t always and easy one to understand, and everyone talks really fast and at the same time, so it was a bit different from listening to my French prof speak. Sometimes people understanding me and me understanding them was difficult. Thankfully, I would hang out with some of the staff on weekends and we’d speak French so it eventually got a lot easier to communicate. Now I actually have to concentrate in order to say more than a few sentences in English during te workday (which happens every so often).

One thought on “The Last Week In Marseille

  1. Returning home can often be the most challenging part of traveling abroad! I’m so glad you’ve had such a positive experience. I am certain that you made just as big of an impression on the people you met as they did on you. Savor these last days and safe travels back to the states!

    Like

Leave a comment